Friends of the Newark Free Library

Click here to edit subtitle

Charlesa Lowell Scholarship Recipient 2013

Faith Dixon is the recipient of the Charlesa Lowell Scholarship for 2013.

Ms. Dixon is pursuing her Master’s in Library and Information Science degree at Drexel University.

Faith Dixon was presented with the award by Pat Birchenall, Newark Free Library manager, at the Delaware Library Association/Maryland Library Association Conference in Ocean City, MD on May 10. The Charlesa Lowell scholarship,  is funded by the Friends to honor the memory of former librarian Charlesa Lowell, who was a strong advocate for the profession of librarianship. 

Previous Recipients

  • 2008 Winner  Mary Doyle
    2008 Winner Mary Doyle
  • 2010 Winner  Jill Swain
    2010 Winner Jill Swain
  • 2012 Winner  Sophia Sotilleo
    2012 Winner Sophia Sotilleo
2008 Winner  Mary Doyle
2008 Winner Mary Doyle

Charlesa Lowell Scholarship

Charlesa Lowell served as the Kent County Librarian, Delaware Division of Libraries Deputy Director, and the Library Manager of the Newark Free Library. Among her many successes were the creation of Delaware Library Legislative Day and the Friends of Delaware Libraries

This scholarship is awarded in her memory by the Friends of the Newark Free Library.

Charlesa Lowell Scholarship Winners

Applications and additional information regarding Delaware Library Association scholarship opportunities are available at:

This scholarship is for a student studying for an ALA accredited Master?s Degree in Library Science. Some preference will be given to those applicants who are working or have worked at the Newark Free Library, Delaware, or lacking such an applicant, those who live in Newark, Delaware


Elaine D. Fike, Chair

DLA Scholarship Committee

Georgetown Public Library

123 West Pine Street

Georgetown, DE 19947

Telephone: 302-856-7958

John Wriston High School

Writing Contest Winners

  • 2011 Winner Sarah Doggert
    2011 Winner Sarah Doggert
  • 2010 Winner Taliah Kurylak
    2010 Winner Taliah Kurylak
  • 2008 Winner Stephanie Bonner
    2008 Winner Stephanie Bonner
2011 Winner Sarah Doggert
2011 Winner Sarah Doggert








Sarah Doggert

Taliah Kurylak

Katie Alexander

Stephanie Bonner

Tiffany Wen

Daniel J. Strouss

Evanna Singh


Home Schooled

Newark High School

Cab Calloway High School 

Newark High School

Newark High School

Glasgow High School